You are here

Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) in Eastern Africa was created in 1996 to supersede the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD). In 1983 and 1984, the six countries Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan and Uganda took action through the United Nations to establish an intergovernmental body for development and drought control in their region. The State of Eritrea became the seventh IGAD member after attaining independence in 1993. The 1996 revitalised IGAD has a new organisational structure and expanded areas of activity covering different fields of regional cooperation.


IGAD Secretariat
Avenue Georges Clemenceau
P.O. Box 2653 Djibouti
Republic of Djibouti